In any profession—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

The statements asserts that those who are in power in any profession should step down after a period of five years. Surely making leaders stepping down would seem like an easy solution to prevent corruption and lacking of initiatives, I think it is an overstretch to claim that all professions should step down for revitalization.

There are a few fundamental flaws for perennial leadership, as it has been exemplified by countless historic events, with the most recent and balant one being dictatorship of the North Korean Royal Kim family. We do not however need to discuss that far of an extreme, flaws of permanent leadership is evident even in many everyday scenarios. It would seem obvious that when leaders have no fear of losing their power, they tend to abuse their power. Although we ought to believe the people appointed as leaders are altruistic, without refrainment from morality and the need to please the people, even the most beneficent people will eventually become corrupted from the wielding of power.

It may be true that an individual can do so much even to change the world, there are nevertheless limits to the human brain. This is why in the contemporary society we embrace teamwork to tackle the toughest problems. A leader can only bring so much light to creativity, their initiatives and imaginations would eventually burn out. In this global village where intellect and creativity is so demanding, where ideas are required so oftenly, we need new leaders with new creative thinking or we may lose to the relentlessly progressing world.

However, there are a few professions that lie outside of this scope. These professions require leaders with immense experience and changing of leadership would take too big of a tole toe the infrastructure due to the steep learning curve of the job. This is evident as new leaders often lack existing skills to cope with problems, and they are not necessarily immediately welcomed by all the co-workers. An example of this would be TSMC, Taiwan’s greatest microchip company. Founded only 30 years ago, TSMC has surpassed IT giants such as Intel and Samsung in producing the most advanced 7nm microchips. The CEO of TSMC only stepped down last year, his 29 years of “dictatorship” however proved beneficial to the company. The field of IT thus seem too complex to be fitting for a leadership change every 5 years or so.

In conclusion, it is fundamentally flawed for anyone to be on leadership for too long as it is human nature to be allured into the inevitable abyss of corruption and staleness. Although there are exceptions to this rule as exemplified by IT giants such as TSMC, these exceptions seem so meager compared to the catastrophic examples such as Kim family that perennial leadership can lead to.