Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state.

With more and more people seeing the negative consequences like global warming from pro-human developments such as urbanization and deforestation, there is a growing awareness of environmental protection almost on a global perspective. I think it is thus strategic to ride on the waves and pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas currently available in their natural state.

We live in a world with scientifc breakthroughs so often that we have learnt much more about this planet in the past 200 years post industrial revolution than what pre-industrial revolution civilisations have learnt through thousands of years. With robots, super computers and smartphones, it may seem like we are able to create accurate models to predict the natural world. In truth however, we are no where near as there are so many insidious links that we have yet to decern. For example, we can accurately measure the humidity, composition of all the gases in the atmosphere, predict wind patterns yet no one is able to create a global climate model to predict global warming, or even simply the impacts of clouds on global warming. The wilderness areas may seem insignificant to many people, but we cannot omit their importance in maintaining the balance in mother nature. If wildernesses are not preserved and eventually all cultivated, a shift in this balance may occur and there is no way currently to tell whats going to happen.

In addition, with more and more advocacies for the environment, it is logical to associate an increase in interest towards these wildernesses. Preservation of the wilderness for sight-seeing purposes can serve potentially as a source of income for the nation. Take New Zealand for example, a small nation in the Southern hemisphere well known for being “clean, green”, more than 4 million people visit this country’s famous wildernesses per year, almost topping the population of people living there. Not only can the earnings offset the costs to preserve the wilderness, it can also earn the nation a title as exemplified by the case of New Zealand.

Lastly, the wilderness may be habituated by many species of faun and flora which may have potential use to humans. This has been exemplified many times throughout history, with the most recent one being the discovery of Cyclosporine. Cyclosporine is a widely used immunosuppressant in the contemporary world, with a variety of uses not limited to treatment for rheumatoid arthritis, organ transplants or cancer treatment. This very drug was discovered through a mass expedition or quest some would say through wildernesses across the world insearch of the magic bullet. The drug was found produced by fungis only to grow in the mountains of Switzerland. If wilderness in the mountains had not been preserved, we may have never found this panacea.

In conclusion, as the world’s awareness of environmental preservation continues to increase, it seems logical for a nation to pass laws to preserve the wilderness. Preservering the wilderness can not only sustain the current harmonious balance in nature, but can also bring immense profits through tourism. It will also sustain the diversity of species of fauna and flora, which may in time benefit humankind. Therefore, I highly support the issue of wilderness preservation.