Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Attributing to more reliable passenger transport and the internet, It is becoming increasingly evident that the world we live in is developing into one global village. Previously unrelated countries, or even the most long standing enmities such as Taiwan and China, North Korea and South Korea are becoming more depedent of each other through the conduits made available by technology. Thus, I fundamentally agree that college and universities should require their students to spend at least on semester studying in a foreign country, to prepare students for this impending trend of globalization.

It is true that more and more tertiary education institutes are offering joint-degrees between universities, allowing students to complete degrees from international sister schools while staying at the students’ own university. The claim is that students can learn exactly the same principles and knowledges from the sister schools and attain world class education right at the students’ own university. The reason behind this claim is that the schools share an abundance of educational resources and curriculum. Even if this is true, there are certain perks of studying abroad that cannot be replicated by joint-degree programs.

Firstly, it is impossible for schools to shatter the language barrier simply through the means of shared curriculum. For example, our school offers a joint master’s program with a well renowned United States university, with the course being offered in a hundred percent English format. However, both the students and the lecturer are more fluent in Chinese, thus the seminars often always end with everyone speaking Chinese. Granted that the students and lecturers strictly abide to the rules and speak only English, it is almost certain that the quality of education of be hampered because both parties are limited to a language they are less familiar with and may have trouble delivering and interpreting each other.

Secondly, the cultural barrier is another limitation that cannot be transgressed through the means of shared curriculum. Culture is the aggregation of the social behaviours of each society, not limited to art, philosophy, literature, science etc. It is unlikely for any individual to replicate these qualities without studying abroad. For example, can one truly apprehend Independence Day or Thanksgiving without experiencing these festivals themselves? These customs can only be appreciated and learnt from the locals by studying in a foreign country.

In conclusion, it is indubitable that there is an increasing importance of learning about foreign countries, which is why universities are offering joint degrees. However, I believe that in order for students to truly learn and experience foreign knowledge, social customs etc., students should re required to study at least one semester in a foreign country.