Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

As countries all over the world are connected increasingly closely with each other, some suggest that it should be required that college students study in a foreign country for at least one semester. From my perspective, this recommendation would be beneficial for students in terms of academic development and career competence. As far as concerns relating to the cost, it will not be a problem as long as the educational institutions are supportive enough launch exchange programs accordingly.

To begin with, I agree with the recommendation since it will facilitate students majoring in certain fields to progress academically. For those who study in fields which are consist of content about other countries, for example, Foreign Language and International Trade, it is of no doubt beneficial for them to go abroad and achieve better academic outcome. Take me as an example, I study in an English related major and improved my academic writing skills in English as an exchange student in University of Southampton in the UK where native professors revised and help me polished my essays.

Furthermore, for those whose majors to which overseas study experience may seem not pertinent at first thought, this recommendation is also advantageous because it will assist students in all majors with building their competitive strengths such as knowledge of a foreign language and cosmopolitan views in the work place. As international economy and politics are get more and more convoluted, it is the kind of talents who master more languages and harbor cosmopolitan views are competent in the work force market. Studying abroad will help students to at least get familiar with one foreign language and build an open mind featuring mutual understanding and various perspectives while they accommodating themselves to an exotic environment.

However, some are object to this suggestion, holding the opinion that it will be a huge financial pressure for students coming from low-income families. Speaking from my own experience, this should not be a concern with the support from colleges and universities which are cognizant of the efficacy of this recommendation. As mentioned above, I studied in the UK for one semester. That experience did not cost me a fortune since I did not need to pay for the expensive tuition fees covered by my home university as part of its exchange program with University of Southampton. Following this, assistance from educational institutions should help students alleviate their burden.

To reiterate my point, I agree with the recommendation by stating its advantages in terms of academy and occupation and dispelling doubts of its proposed financial disadvantage with experience of my own.