Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Speaking of projects in school, students do them sometimes in groups while sometimes on their own. There are opposite opinions regarding the effects of these two forms of assignment. Some people claim that working together leads to more effective results whereas others rebut. As far as I am concerned, the former idea is in accordance with that of mine. In the following paragraphs my reasons for holding this view will be presented.

To begin with, students can learn from each other doing projects together. We all admit that each student has his own strengths and shortcomings. Working as a team, they are granted with the chance to discover good points from teammates and learn from them. For instance, when a group of students are preparing for a presentation, the ones who feel awkward addressing the audience could learn speaking skills and strategies from the ones who are articulate. However, had the former kind of students been asked to work alone on the project, they might end up doing an unsatisfying job due to the lack of proper techniques.

Moreover, working in groups frees students from doing mechanical and tedious work repeatedly. It is not surprising that not all of projects are always challenging and interesting. Sometimes people have to endure boring parts in projects such as drawing graphs and doing the same experiment for dozens of times. However, this negative effect can be largely reduced if students do work together. They can divide the not-that-worthwhile part into several sections, and each of the group member deals with one piece. Via this avenue, students are released from work of little value and left more time to absorb meaningful knowledge. But if students were assigned to do this type of tasks individually, they are bound to waste a large portion of valuable time.

Nevertheless, some may argue that working alone is more practical since students do not always get along well in groups. This, from my perspective, should be regarded as more of an opportunity for youngsters to cultivate interpersonal skills than a drawback of working together. Learning how to cooperate effectively with others in spite of some disagreement is essential for them.

To sum up, it is more preferable for students to work on their projects in school together since this way they will learn more and learn more efficiently. As for the challenges might occur in a group, they should and could be tackled with properly as discussed above.