The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain

The developers applying for the loan believes that there is a strong fanbase for jazz in the city of Monroe and the nearest jazz music club is 65 miles away, so building a jazz music club in Monroe would be undoubtfully a profitable enterprise. While the correlation stated may seem logical, this proposal is filled with baseless assumptions which needs to be backed up by evidence before any procedure should be taken.

First of all, the claim is that over 100,000 people attended Monroe’s annual jazz festival last summer. Sure this claim may be true, but we are not given any background details about the city of Monroe. Monroe can be a globalized metropolitan city with over a few million citizens. If this is indeed the case, 100,000 people would mean that only a meager percentage of citizens are actually interested in the jazz festival. There is also a possibility that there are no other festivals held simultaneous to the jazz festival, so it would be natural for parents to take kids (who are on summer holiday) to the festival only to experience the festive atmosphere and not to listen to jazz. The developers should give elaborate more on the population base for the city and show evidence that the participants of the festival are indeed in it for the jazz music.

Secondly, the claim that the nation wide study shows that jazz fans spend close to $1000 per year on jazz entertainment is hardly condusive for a persuasive argument. We are not given any background information about the survey, who conducted it? And who were the targets of the surveys? We are also not given any information on how the $1000 is spent. Even if it is indeed true that jazz fans on average spend $1000 per year on jazz, they may have spent it mostly on jazz instruments and merchandises instead of going to a jazz music club. Furthoremore, nationwide statistics does not necessarily reflect the demographics and natures of the citizens of Monroe city, the citizens may all be struggling and do not have the extra money to enjoy any sort of entertainment. Evidence should be provided on the nature of the survey, and whether jazz fans really are willing to devote money to go to a jazz music club.

Lastly, the assumption is that the highest rated radio station in Monroe is “Jazz Nightly” so the citizens of Monroe are generally interested in jazz. This could have been a strong argument if this was claimed 20 years ago, but who listens to jazz now? In the era of smartphones and the internet, the influence of radio station has drastically decreased and it no longer seems to be a suitable median to measure the general interests of the citizens. Furthermore, being highest rated does not equate being most popular. More often than not do you see highly rated movies on leading critic sites such as Rotten Tomato or IMDB with a pathetic viewership. Being highly rated thus does not necessarily transform into popularity. We would need more evidence and information on how radio stations are regarded in the city of Monroe and whether ratings really transform into popularity.

In conclusion, while it may be true that there is potential to build a jazz music club in Monroe for the popularity of jazz among the citizens, the proposal is nevertheless baseless and more evidence is needed before any further evaluation can be made.