Scandals – whether in politics, academia or other areas – can be useful. They focus our attention on problems in way that no speaker or reformer ever could

By human nature, we are delighted by scandals or rather, bizarre incidents that differ from our mundane lives. In general, the more unbelievable the better. While I believe scandals can grasp our attention like no other, I am skeptical about how scandals can be useful in fields like politics or the academia.

Ever since the boom of the internet 30 years ago, we have been living in world filled with an abundance of information. In response to this excessive flush of information, we have trained our minds to attend only the most catching ones. Among these information, scandals are infinitely more engaging than traditional passages or speeches on problems – which seem just like the one we had a glimpse about on Wikipedia or Youtube the other day. This may be why scandals can focus our attention so strongly, and may potentially serve as a useful medium to deliver information.

It is true that scandals can be a powerful medium to deliver information, but the information delivered by scandals are rarely meaningful, let alone useful. Surely a scandal in the politics may provide some use, it sheds new light to the possible corrupted moral or ethics of the candidate, and allows voters a better judgment of who to vote for. However, this is clearly not the case in fields such as sciences and medicine. Can scandals such as adulteries or even fake publications diminish the importance or impacts of certain breakthroughs? Will you be unwillingly to get your operation by the renowned surgeon just because he was involved in a scandal? Scandals in these fields simply does not affect our views or choices, so they effectively are useless information to us.

Furthermore, in order to hook the attention of the readers, scandals are often so embellished that it is hard to glean useful information from it, the original meanings may even have been modified. The level of attentiveness required to discern the true meaning behind the scandal may not be suffice for the average reader only interested in the superficial and catchy titles. It would then seem pointless to use scandals as a way to deliver information, as they may be able to grasp the attention of the reader, but fail to sustain a continued engagement.

In conclusion, admittedly scandals can engage our attention in ways no other means can, they nevertheless lack the ability to sustain a continued engagement. This makes scandal a less useful tool for information delivering, especially information that requires more than an ephemeral attention span. Furthermore, due to the inherent nature of scandals, it seems unlikely that they can serve as a medium for useful information on problems.