It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Every single person in this world has a set of beliefs, it may be religious, spiritual or a certain set of values that the person trusts and holds dearly. It is beliefs that sustain and propel people forward towards their dream.

Having a belief is a good thing to a certain degree as it can provide mental and spiritual support. Due to the fact that humans have always been so reliant on beliefs that we often overlook their importance. However, if one were to analyze and justify each of his/her actions, one would realize that each and every thought and action we perform is based on this very set of beliefs engraved within us. That being said, being faithful in belief systems is not always beneficial. If the belief goes too extreme and eventually impacts the person’s life and relationships negatively, then one should question whether this belief is worth adhereing to.

As discussed in the previous paragraph, belief systems are what people hold faithfully to, abandoning them is equitable to a total rejection of one’s belonging and values. Thus, abandoning beliefs can do considerable harm to one mentally and even physically. However, it is an overstretch to claim that it is more harmful to compromise one’s own belief than to adhere to them. Compromising your beliefs does not equate with abjuring your belief. Instead, one may view compromising as a way for ones belief to resprout and grow into a better form. No one in this world has a complete identical set of beliefs, and when beliefs don’t coincide, people argue. Even the closest friends, kin have disputes once in a while. This is why people ought to learn how to compromise sometimes and find common ground with the beliefs of the opposing party.

Although beliefs are what each and every one of us trust and rely on, it cannot be certain that what we believe in is always correct. This can be exemplified by the religious cults that have been pervasive since the very foundation of human history. Although these beliefs bring the people within the cult closer forming a seemingly friendly but cliquish society, if the belief systems held by the cult are fundamentally wrong, it may ultimately lead to bad consequences, as evident by the recent bombing cases of ISIS. Thus, if a cult member realizes the mistakes in his belief, he ought to compromise them instead of adhereing to them, that way he can adopt a new set of beliefs that may be more morally justified.

In conclusion, we should all adhere to our set of beliefs to a certain degree. However, if the beliefs are impacting us negatively, or that they are in conflict with many of your closest friends and kin, it may be wise to reflect whether to compromise or continue to adhere to the belief.