The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

No one is this world is identical to another, we are all different by genetics and upbringing. While this may be beneficial for individualism, dissimilar ideas and values meant that arguments are often ineluctable. The very purpose of arguments is to protect and to impinge self-values onto other people. Thus, I think it is fair to say that the best measure of an argument’s ability would be its likeliness to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Arguments arise from disparities between the beliefs of individuals, with the goal being to ultimately conform the viewpoints. If one can convince the opposing side to recant their previous viewpoint, there would be a homogeneity in ideas, and the purpose of the argument would be fulfilled. From this perspective, the ability of an argument is directly related to its ability to persuade the opposing side.

Through the process of developing and exchanging arguments, the participants are able to reflect about their values as well as the beliefs held by the opposition. Sometimes the participants may realize their own mistakes by themselves and acknowledge defeat. People may claim that this epiphany is a virtue of arguments, but I believe this defeat demeans the ability of the argument. I agree that one should forfeit an argument upon realization of their own mistakes, but this would not negate the fact that their argument is flawed in the first place – which is why they lost the argument. If one argument cannot successfully persuade the opposition but even backfire, it cannot be deemed to be a cogent argument.

Nevertheless, given the complexity of real life scenarios, I concede that the ability of an argument is often judged not basing on its efficiency to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint. For example, the judge may never be able to persuade a recalcitrant culprit into admitting his foul dealings. Surely the jury with ample evidence would be able to deliver a cogent argument, the culprit may simply deny the argument illogically because they know they would get prisoned or stained with a criminal record if they do get persuaded. In these scenarios, the ability of the argument cannot be measured by whether it can convince the culprit or not, but on a third party adjudicating the case.

In conclusion, arguments arise from the differences between each individual. If an argument can convince the opposition successfully, it can be said to be a cogent argument. However, in situations where either party is illogically unyielding due to fear of potential consequences, the best metric to measure the ability of an argument may lie upon third parties judging it.