A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Requiring all students of a nation to study the same national curriculum may seem like a solution to making sure that no student is left behind in knowledge, and that students across the nation being educated with the same curriculum will share many similarities in cultural and logical reasoning. While there are indeed perks of national curriculum such as easier preparation of educational resources on the part of teachers, and a greater ability to measure students across the nation using the same metric; if the intent of a national curriculum is to however, bridge the gaps in knowledge within individual students in the nation, it is doubtful that this purpose will succeed.

In Taiwan, a 12 year national curriculum has been put in place to ensure that all students will study the same material from the point of enrolment into elementary school all the way till graduation from high school. The assumption for this proposal is that students regardless of socio-economical standings will have access to same educational material, so they will be on a more even playing field. One may think this is plausible, since everyone studies the same material right? In reality however, this has only created more iniquity between students as students who are more fortunate can attend after school classes or hire tutors to broaden their knowledge, while the less fortunate students can only rely on the meager source of knowledge provided by the national curriculum. Indeed, surveys and sociology experiments have shown that there is marked decrease in the percentage of students from working class families being admitted to top universities, and a sharp increase in the percentage of students from upper class families.

The previous example shows how this national curriculum may come into play for traditional pathways of education. Both the statement and the example however neglects the very purpose of vocational and specialty schools (such as music/dance academy). From a biological perspective, laryngeal muscles attains its mature anatomy as early as the age of eight, same case with neurons (especially those of intrafusal twitch fibers which grow very little pass puberty), meaning that training for professions such as dancing and singing should start at a very young age or progress will be hampered. It is not uncommon to hear young piano or opera prodigies mastering their art with just few years of practice, but have you ever heard of any performance artists who miraculously become proficient at that art only first learning it at the age of 22?

Lastly, if we consider the nation as a whole, we are inherently made up of many different localities where some students may be inclined to learn about their own local culture such as arts and language. It is doubtful that a single curriculum will be able to address these variations and thus the students will restricted from learning that is inherently in themselves. After all, it is these varied interests and studies that enable them to choose a major for their college. For example, if a student wants to learn a foreign language during his/her schooling and a single curriculum doesn't have the option to do so, he/she would be deprived to something which is of interest to him/her.

In conclusion, although the perks of national curriculum such as easier preparation of educational material for teachers or a uniform standard to measure students upon, it is outweighed by the flaws which it may entail. In the end, it seems critical to ensure a diverse curriculum so students can freely choose what they want to pursue and study, and that no further inequality is created in education for people of different socio-economical stances.