The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

After careful and objective analysis about this issue, I would like to present a slightly deviated position from the argument. The culture of youth developing a subculture - as a part of contemporary culture. But we can not ignore other representative groups’ culture, such as the older generation, which contemporary culture also included.

First of all, analyzing the trends of the youth could understand some parts of contemporary culture, because youth is part of the present and certainly part of the future and its culture. By studying the young people's actions, we could comprehend some parts of culture better. For example, Facebook nowadays is our main method to connect to others, rarely depending on traditional phones or email. And Facebook - we knew that it was founded by a group of Harvard College students, then flourishing among the U.S. students, even spreading its culture to all over the world. In this case, it is mainly through the youth that we can gather the idea that Facebook is popular in our society. Thus, some aspects of a culture are certainly represented in the youth trends.

However, in some cases, it is hard to understand contemporary culture only by studying in youth groups. In fact, youth usually prepare more to accept new things and therefore is apt to be influenced by foreign culture. With the multinational corporation and intercommunication of different nations, these different cultures influence each other and then give birth to a multi-culture. This new culture could not be representative of a whole nation - just like a short time of enthusiasm among these young people, such as wearing weird clothes and coloring hair. These behaviors only explain that is a starting point of the culture change.

Finally, studying the youth's trend is far from sufficient if one wishes to gain a full knowledge of a nation's contemporary culture. It is obvious that habits and hobbies of the youth differ so greatly from the older generation. People at every age group are representative of their certain historical culture time. We will get biased conclusions if we only study youth trends since youth can not represent the whole human. Therefore, we should put both the youth and the elder together under consideration, so that we can gain a more comprehensive understanding of its contemporary culture.

In conclusion, it is partially true that analyzing the trends of its youth could be an effective way to explain contemporary culture in some cases. But to conclude a more comprehensive understanding, we should take both the youth and older generation into consideration. After all, only studying trends through all ages can allow us to understand this whole present culture.