In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Many of us tend to separate knowledge and imagination. We desperately try to figure out which one is more important. Artists assert that imagination is the engine of humankind's development and without it we could have lived in caves instead of our convenient houses. Scientists claim that knowledge is the cornerstone of our society and collecting and sharing the experience is the indispensable facet of our species. As far as I am concerned each viewpoint has its merits. Imagination and knowledge are equally important for the mankind.

First of all, knowledge or experience which we collect and share is the natural and crucial facet of our kind. Look around you this computer, house, cell-phone, your car are products of collecting and sharing knowledge. For instance, a car is the product of work of several generations of engineers and scientists who studied chemistry, physics, geology, computer science to combine their knowledge and create a car. In fact, our environment is artificial it is embodiment of our technology and science. If we were not able to collect our experience, we would have to repeat our own mistakes again and again. And our progeny learns nothing from us, in this case, the humanity would be mere animals. Consequently, knowledge is important for all profession and academic fields due to the fact that they are the product of the knowledge.

At the same time, imagination is the source of our ingenuity our ability to create new and combine existing thing in new ways. Our creativity is important for our development, for instance, any scientific research is the product of the imagination. A pundit has to create a hypothesis and try to predict result; the imagination is needed for interpretation of the results of the study as well. Moreover, the ability to imagine is a perquisite for all professions, for example, even such profession as a bus driver requires from a person to be able to predict development of road traffic, where he or she should speed up and where the bus should maneuver. As a result we may aver that imagination is a necessity for engaging in any profession and academic inquiry.

In conclusion, despite the fact that some of us tend to perceive imagination and knowledge separately from each other, they are two interwoven and interconnected processes which create our world. Without imagination our knowledge about the universe would cease and if without knowledge our imagination would endlessly repeat the same dreams and ideas. Thus two of them in agreement are the processes which have created the world the way we know it.