a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

I disagree with the claim that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. Although the execution of this policy may bring merits, this statement neglects the diverse and distinct expertise, predilection, and personality of each individual, revealing a naivety regarding education.

The first reason for my disagreement is that if studying the same curriculum is compulsory before college, many students in special needs cannot be educated properly. Students with intellectual disability need to be trained how to use utensils, recognize different sorts of fruits, or purchase a bottle of water; according to the policy, however, they will be asked to learn algebra and geometry instead. Students whose hearing is impaired need to learn how to communicate with sign language, yet the education system will not provide that for them since all the students study the same things. Students showing precocious genius cannot develop their strength since the diversity among individual students are obliterated in the eyes of legislators and regulators. Obviously, the primary goal of education—to enlighten—is not practiced with the policy strengthening homogeneity and more obstacles are created in the way of assisting the development of special students.

Another reason is that the policy deprives parents of the rights to educate the children. Education is supposedly a common duty between parents and the government. Under this policy, nonetheless, parents have no rights to intervene what is happening in school, where their children spend hours daily. If political rulers determine to concentrate all the power and become autocratic, they can easily alter the national curriculum and brainwash the youngsters, turning them into blind supporters. On the other hand, parents' objection or attempts to change the content in the whole process are ineffective since the government has already dominated primary and secondary schools. This policy is therefore risky and hazardous for a democratic society by endowing the government the complete power to require students to study the same things nationally.

Despite the risks and the chaos the policy may bring, there are still some advantages the policy can produce. The professors and tutors in the college will have a more precise understanding of what the students have learned, and what needs to be taught first for students to learn more complex theories. Also, education among average students will be facilitated in that teachers all over the nation prepare for the same curriculum and can share with and learn from each other better ways to convey knowledge.

Yet the disadvantages the policy brings still outweigh the advantages.Society ignoring diversity is not an advanced one, and parents should own part of the power to educate their children. Hence, I disagree with the policy in the claim.