The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

To evaluate whether a nation is great, various indicators can be applied such as the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists and the general welfare of its people. It is claimed that among these indicators, the last one, the general welfare of its people, is the surest. However, in my opinion, no indicator is surer than another since the judgement of a nation, advanced or poor, will be neither comprehensive nor representative without a wide enough band of standards. Only when various indicators are used can the evaluation be reliable and sure.

When the general welfare of citizens is viewed as an indicator surer than anything else, some major developments of a nation may be neglected. If a nation decides to invest a lot of money into its healthcare system, the number of indicator of general welfare pertaining to health may skyrocket. However, the capitals may be used to support the black hole people leave when they see a doctor too often, rather than to push forward the medical advancement. But this phenomenon may be seen more clearly if another indicator, the achievement of medical researchers, is used along with the indicator of public health welfare. When the medical researchers from a nation win a lot of creditable prizes such as the Nobel prize, this may indicate the budget invested into medical research is high since usually it takes a lot of funds to support a research institute and nurture an insightful scholar. With this addition of indicator, the efforts a nation make to develop medical research system are clearer to see. Hence, overall welfare is not the supreme indicator in the process of understanding a nation.

Surely, the general well-being of citizens is also critical. No importance of personal achievement can outmatch that of public welfare. If the achievement of scientists is viewed as the most important measuring, the whole education system will be different. Less intelligent students being screened out, only the brightest ones are left to receive scientific education. This will lead to lionization of privileged individual, and the concentration of resources and power. Thus, by no means can individual achievement overrides public well-being.

In conclusion, most of the modern nations are changing rapidly and becoming more and more complex. Therefore, various indicators to check public and personal welfare should be used in juxtaposition to each other so that the features of such multifaceted society will not be compressed. Different indicators should be given equal importance and credit. In this way, the evaluation of well-being of a nation can be comprehensive, reliable, and meaningful.