A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Whether a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college could be weighed in many aspects. However, the condition of every student is varied.

Admittedly, the author claims might appear to have considerable merit. After all, requiring all students to study the same curriculum before they enter college could provide a clear examining standard for students. Since every student takes the same curriculum, it is thus easier for the nation to hold a national-wide college entrance exam without any ostentatious unfairness. Also, the professor can ensure what part of subjects have the students learned during their pre-college academy, and further help them improve and extend the content of these fields after they enter the college.

However, not all students are the same. The speaker fails to provide a precise litmus test for measuring "students". When we speak of students, the following can be put forth: students with talent in every field and students with the only talent in a specific subjects, i.e. science. Not surprisingly, students who have talent in every field could indeed perform better under this regulation, while those who are struggling against certain subjects may not.

It is thus justifiable to take both kinds of students into account, and we will find the statement problematic. Consider those who have extraordinary talent and insight in mathematics, but perform miserably in art and literature. If they are required to take all these subjects same as anyone else, we can already anticipate those students may have a high chance to face extraneous obstacles they are not supposed to deal with if they don't take these courses, and the consequential influence of these obstacles such as depression may outweigh the advantage they have in mathematics, and further cause their failure in national-wide college entrance exams.

In summary, this claim is not persuasive as it stands. Although requiring all students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college could allow the nation to assess it's students on a fair standard, not all the students are the same. If those students struggle against specific subjects and have little leeway to study these subjects, the result will backfire no matter how convenient these regulations benefit the nation.