A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The Diversity in course curriculum can become daunting for students , on the other hand these courses offer a suprficial view of a major field or sector, in the form of a small course inside a curriculum.Although it can hamper some students performance as well as gear up students for the more perplexing college courses we take a look at all of these points below.

Firstly, a fixed but rigorous curriculum is sure to enthrall students in some courses and other courses may also appear jejune to most of the students.For example the subject maths is known to be infamous among students for it's intricacy ,nevertheless it provides the core foundation to many college streams such as engineering and even the unsuspecting medical field also has a touch of mathematics such as gene theory which uses permutations to calculate the offspring genes.

Secondly, colleges prepare a curriculum that can be accessible to everyone with very minimum pre-requisites to the courses.If a common curriculum was not followed by schools, it would become chaotic to say the less.Students with different skills and different mindsets, pursuing a common course in college would not attain the same learning experience as the other.Many school curriculum are known to skip programming in their curriculum or provide a very superficial view of the subject.Colleges offering computer science are aware of this discrepancy and try to make a course curriculum befitting for all categories of students and in doing so, students of the other demographic who are well versed in programming pass the course in a breeze putting less to no effort .This might seem unfair to rest of the students who have not learned programming as eruditly as the others and may cause a sense of unrest in their minds.

Although a fixed curriculum provied a semblance to be without loopholes, it's biggest drawback is the abundance of courses. While it is necessary for students to experience all types of courses before choosing their stream, the process is too tedious for some and they fallout or unfortunately fail due to courses not under their command.Take a simple example, students trying to pursue art in the future may find mathematics to be troublesome and even on studying dilligently might not be enough for some students to pass the course and hence pass the whole semester.Einstien had quoted the famous quote " judging a fish to climb tree is stupid", this same analogy applies to students who are the fish in the bowl and they are asked to perform all the tasks raning from swiming to climbing a tree!

In conclusion, a nation wide rigorous curriculum is required in order for students to explore all possible fields before sticking to a single field and working on it.This curriculum should also have a certain flexibility in which passing criteria should be modified for students looking pursue field that are in contrast with the courses they are being offered