A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The topic presents the controversial issue of whether a nation should obligate all of its students to follow the same curriculum. Certainly, it is reasonable that basic subjects should be included in all sorts of curricular. However, it does not mean that a national government has to interfere with every detail of educational curricular. In this case, there would be problems, such as violation of the freedom of choice and biased interpretations of specific educational contents. Therefore, I argue that the same national curriculum should not be imposed upon every school.

Admittedly, there are very basic subjects that most pundits of education consider as necessary parts for primary and secondary educations. For example, it is agreed that every student has to learn national language and mathmatics. Therefore, it is natural for governments to formulate specific guidelines that require all types of schools, regardless of their orientations and attitudes, to incorporate several basic subjects into their curricular. As a matter of fact, the majority of countries on the planet have legalized these basic comulsory courses. However, this fact does not mean that all school curricular have to be identical in every detail and it is not desirable if national governments are inclined to regulate the curricular in this direction.

Firstly, it is highly probable that the same national curriculm encroches the freedom of choice. Students have different interests and abilities and it is their right to choose what they want to learn. Some students may intend to focus on learning foreign languages, while some others aspire to profoundly study physics or chemistry. Therefore, if the government forcibly introduces the same curriculm regulating every subject, those students would lose the opportunities to follow their own interests and imporve their standard of knowledge.

In addition, each school has its own ideological orientations and many students consider them for their choice as well. Thus, regulation of ideological contents of the school education would result in violation of the rights of both students and schools. In the 20th century, the Turkish military regime forced every school to adopt secular education and abandon any sort of religious education. As there were many students who were eager to take courses teaching religion, a number of demonstrations and conflicts happened. Many schools closed their doors as well. This case fully demonstrates dangerous results of the forceful intervention.

In conclusion, it is admissible that several basic subjects should be included in school curricular. However, it does not mean that nations have a right to force specific programs to every school. If it happens, both schools and students' freedom would be violated.