A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

A great learning atmosphere is created through a holistic learning and development process. In this light, it should be kept in mind that a system that imparts uniform learning process would help a nation to strive for the overall and uniform development of its masses. With regard to this hypothesis, I strongly believe- "a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college", as is supported by three main points explained below.

Education up to high school mainly moulds a student into an all-round personality by imparting knowledge across all spheres. It is in their schools that students' foundation for higher education is built. It is absolutely necessary to equip all the students with a firm grip of methodologies not only for higher studies but for life as well. Let us consider the example of a situation where schools are given the liberty to teach according to their niche. In such cases, it is quite probable that while they provide high-quality education in certain domains, some of the yet important ones are completely neglected. A school that has an excellent faculty of mathematics professors would design a highly ambitious curriculum in this field. However, it may fail to provide a basic understanding of art and culture- which also holds significant importance in learning. It is, thus, essential for the national body to set a national curriculum that shall look after teaching all aspects of life till the higher secondary level of education.

It is often said that each and every student is unique in their own way. While some might be inclined towards the field of core sciences, others would find love in art, culture and humanities. Students are expected to go on to specialize as per their choices once they enter into college for their further studies. However, imagine a painter who knows absolutely nothing about mathematics. He would face insurmountable amount of troubles in his daily life- be it at the market, selling paintings or keeping track of annual savings. It is thus quite essential for each and every individual to be abrest of atleast the fundamentals of all necessary domains and then move on with their specializations. Without a national curriculum, we may still continue to have great sceintists, painters or writers- however, they may be deprived of quintessential knowledge, that would have been known to them otherwise.

In order to make education a profitable bussiness, many schools, in pursuit of getting their students admitted to esteemed colleges, design the curriculum according to their area of expertise. As a result a huge amount of student, who happen to be interested in physics, may find their way into the prestigious 'Ivy Leagues'. But, if a cohort of students chance to have their interest in literautre, they would find themselves bogged down in a highly irrelevant system of education. After passing high school, students are allowed to choose their interests independently. However, if students are forcefully led to emphasize, or develop mastery, in a subject they do not like, they may end up pursuing a career out of their scope of interest.

Many proponents against this logic may argue that students may get intimidated while studying too many subjects as per the national curriculum. But is fundamental knowledge of every field absolutely necessary for leaving a hassle free life? The recommendation seeks for studying just a unifrom syllabus till high school before shifting to the area of expertise. Through this system of learning, it is highly probable that the world tomorrow shall excel in the maximization of human capital.