Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.

There is no denial to the fact that individuals would have contrasting views while comparing the quality of life between two different time periods. If I were to choose a side in this regard, I would definitely say that life today is much easier and comfortable than it was when my grandparents were children. I shall develop a few ideas and elucidate them in the following paragraphs.

To start with, I would like to highlight the importance of accessibility that we enjoy today. In modern times, the globe has become a smaller place due to the presence of a virtual world. Starting from study materials to paying electricity bills, everything can now be done with the help of the internet. I have heard stories of how my grandparents would toil hard to get hold of study materials during their school days. Education was so much tough back then. However, these days online version of books, instructive video lessons and so many resources are available with just one click. Similarly, during those days letters were the only source of communication. Nowadays, cellphones can help us connect with anyone at any point of time. This is why I certainly believe that modern days have been ameliorated with increased accessibility.

Secondly, I would like to put forward a comparison on the absolute quality of life between the two time periods. My grandparents were refugees from Bangladesh who had migrated into India during independence. There was an ongoing political turmoil and risk to life used to be a constant threat. These days we are previledged to live in a safe world with satisfactory levels of serenity and security. We are free to venture out of our homes whenever required without any worries of any sort. Thus, quality of life in terms of security has definitely increased.

Lastly, it is needless to say that the standards of living have definitely upsurged so much in the last few decades. Availability of electronic devices, better means of communication, increase in income have led to a much easier life these days. My grandparents had to rely purely on newspapers and local radio to be abreast about current affairs. These days, information can be acquired through a mere tap on our smartphones. Travelling back then seemed to be a daunting task as long distance travel was supported mostly by steam engines. In modern days, aeroplanes have reduced a distance of thousands of miles to a few hours.

All being said, it is not really difficult to understand that quality of life as a whole has increased significantly over time. Thus, life these days are much easier than what it used to be when our grandparents were children.