In any profession — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A body in power or authority over a specific field seems to stagnate and loose its zeal to strive for perfection after a certain tenure. In any field which requires high level of planning and implementation, a power with a specific ideology should step down after a span of five years. I strongly agree with this suggestion in pursuit of striving towards excellence mainly because of three broad reasons.

Ideas governing an institution need to be constantly evolving such that it paves the way for an overall improvement for the benefit of the common mass as a whole. There is bound to be winners and losers by a particular policy that is implemented by a ruling body. As new authoritarians are brought into the framework, the whole idea as well the plan of action and the motive of success increases manifold times in order to prove their worth for the entire span. Let us take the example of a country being ruled by a political party which believes in least government intervention and leaves the market to work on its free will. The economy is sure to have its own advantages and drawbacks. Now, if after a span of 5 years, a new political party is introduced which believes in the principle of maximum government intervention, the economy is sure to experience a huge positive shock in the first few months, even years. There would be a considerable amount of money that shall be pumped into the entire system to overcome the supposedly existing state of unemployment, low demand and other discrepancies that must have cropped up due to capitalistic approach of the preceding ruling party. Again, as the term of this government ends, and now a political party with blended approach (who is ambivalent of the degree of government intervention) is introduced, the competitiveness of the economy quadruples. Hence, it is clear from the above discussion that the path to success in such a framework lies in the approach of continuously changing and rectifying from the past mistakes. With only one ruling body, it is most likely to overlook on its own flaws and embellish on its success stories. Thus, it is important to periodically bring new strategies into fray through the introduction of different lines of thinking.

Confidence is lost and gained very quickly. Be it business, education or government, the confidence of common mass rests only till the policies undertaken are of maximum interest to them. Let us dig a bit more into this by considering few cases. Consider a case where people elect a government who promises to provide free education to the masses. People, driven by self-interest, would support this government and bring them into power. Now, if the policy is suddenly rebuked by the end of their term of 5 years, people would chide at their decisions. This would result in a hostile uprising of a certain section of the society who are deprived of their promises. Even if the government continues to rule, thanks to votes from other sections of the society, there would remain some fraction of people who are at their disadvantage. Similarly, for business, if the institution at power once cared for employee benefits and now has turned a deaf ear to their problems, would be needed to be removed for the interest of all. Thus, it would be better on part of both the sides to agree on the fact that a term should be fixed, exceeding which a new allotment to power must be ensured.

Some people would correctly argue for the fact that those in power may demand an even more amount of time to prove their points and arguing on just one or two mistakes, they should not be brought down from their position. However, it must be noted that even 5 years should be enough to bring about positive changes to an institution. Also, it should be kept in mind that changes are the part and parcel to a better future. Thus, in any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should be required to step down after five years.