In any profession — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The oft-cited maxim instructs a leader in any field to never overstay one's welcome as it breeds complacency or even potentially fomenting unrest from unhappy quarters. Sometimes, new ideas or approaches are necessary and younger "blood" which is groomed for more responsibilities provide the requisite guidance, especially through turbulent times. Just think about the innumerable business articles touting the succession planning; senior managers need to leave to make way for another organizational culture to better position an enterprise that seizes future opportunities. However, the institutional knowledge and along with the deep interpersonal relationships will have been repudiated, rebuilding the trust among different groups or interests takes patience and concerted effort. Seemingly, some kind of balance must be struck- the broad, generalized recommendation could be adapted for various important personalities, consistent with shared mission or goal but not separate from novel changes whose implications affect all activities. Therefore, a dispassionate stance not leaning too heavily on either extreme point; there should be no hard or fast rule of a crucial titular head merely relinquishing formal authority simply because the laws or policies mention this specific caveat for governance.

Rigidly adhering to the rules would state, a top executive ought to be removed as the particularity is fulfilled. The company board benefits from incorporating a wider context: utilizing pertinent metrics and indicators, measuring the targets, conflating with the foremost employee performance. Say, for example a soccer club hires a coach with the realistic outcome of winning a league cup; the trainer not only accomplishes the target, indeed outperforms initial expectations by also achieving good results in a competitive division or continental tournaments. The gaffer slowly builds a functioning system like a well-oiled machine- the players, the formations, the support staff, the team hierarchy certainly did not operate as an orchestra in the beginning with all nice, smooth notes all in place. The collective perseverance and unity for a common purpose pushed each other to newer heights and though they did not lack in self-belief, only day-to-day work moved each one of them closer to the vision. A sense of the style of football each and everyone wanted to play, original not imitating a multitude of groups possibly took more than five years. Now, the question to the reader, is sacrificing the structure, the leadership or the identity, does practicality override a small legal detail?.

On the other hand, evolving perspectives germinate from debates; policy, scientific papers or even discoveries stipulate the "back and forth" of inter-personal exchanges, courteous discussion for progress. Many researchers, academic honchos or technologists often exceed the remits of job descriptions, educational levels or the curve-ball of life, since this means assisting emerging hypotheses or alternatives. The scholarly journal editor, peer reviewer could be a tenured professor in his domain concerned with the integrity of methodologies, nonetheless exceeding the contractual five-years limit. Furthermore, installing fresh mentality might not be effective by not conforming with existing bureaucratic frameworks; despite Edward Teller's prescient words germane to various freedoms relating to science, if radical thoughts or strategies disrupt the status-quo then opposition arises, continuity and stability compromised and the overall model disintegrates.

Young men and women can still be nurtured with rotating roles as preparing for a greater burden on their shoulders. learning from mentors, coupled with actual training, the higher ranking workers pass their respective wisdom as gained from prevailing environment and procedures. Finding the space which narrows irreconcilable disagreements fosters rapport, the very familiar "comfort zone" of doing tasks together within rule-based constraints not engendering polarities in attitudes or individual output. Steering a ship in stormy waters requires steadiness accumulated from wisdom and energy; lower age and older loyal comrades put animosities aside, cultivate trust and overcome challenges together. The cause-celebre of surviving a scandal and united actions, lifting the workplace out of the morass or scrutiny- the departments learn and stores the incident as for the historical record. The BP deep-water horizon saga in the Gulf of Mexico and the elaborate public relations exercise attests to the aforementioned statement.

In conclusion, no stringent qualification mandates a period ought to force an quintessential worker to step down. An overarching strategy, social or technological developments as well as contingencies pressurize varied human endeavors: the process need not be disturbed, including dissimilitude personnel from diverse backgrounds and formative lived experience comprises additional value for cooperative motives and not necessarily inimical towards the status quo of a well-oiled bureaucracy with contract shelf-life.