The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Dr. Karp’s article argues against Dr. Field’s research conclusions about Tertia children having been raised by an entire village as invalid. Furthermore, this author also states that Dr. Field’s observation-centered method is also invalid. He makes many claims like interview-centered approach being valid and externally generalizable. In order to evaluate the strengths and weaknesses of the argument, much necessary evidence is needed. The argument is either potentially valid or weaker than it is.

Firstly, necessary evidence on whether there have been changes during the intervening twenty years in Tertia and the surrounding islands. Dr. Field’s research methodology, his research conclusion could be correct in context of prevailing circumstances twenty years ago. For example, influx of tourists and other people could have introduced a western-style nuclear family structure. If it is so, then Dr. Karp’s research conclusion is also perhaps correct, though his allegations that Dr. Field’s observation-centered approach is invalid, is seriously weakened.

Another evidence is for determining whether the Dr. Karp’s research study was completed and surrounding islands. Much information about the research study design, sample size, questions asked, specific responses are needed. So, for example, if only one or only few Tertia children were interviewed and their responses uniformly recorded, then the research conclusion could be wrong.

Finally, evidence on whether the observation centered or interview centered approach is valid and generalizable for other similar island children research populations is needed for comparisons. A meta-analyses of many research papers on similar island children populations is necessary for facilitating comparisons; shared metrics like population, sample size, study design, research method used, etc.

In conclusion, much evidence on whether there have been changes in the intervening twenty years in Tertia and surrounding islands, on the interview questions asked, the recorded responses and on meta-analyses for determining whether interview centered approach is valid is necessary. Only then can we determine the strengths and weaknesses of Dr. Karp’s article.