Claim: Young people's tendency to make extensive use of portable devices like smartphones and tablets has hurt their development of social skills.

Reason: These devices encourage users to form artificial personalities and relationships online rather than fully and honestly engaging with the people around them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

This statement and the reasoning given is very broad and generalized, which, I agree to a certain extent, though not entirely. Without doubt, young people's ever increasing use of the latest devices and social media applications has somewhat impaired their social skills; it is backed by much research evidence on different populations in varying social contexts. But, the pandemic also demonstrates that technology and its' latest applications and those persons who possess deft skills and focused use, have benefited from it. The more emotionally intelligent personalities whose identities are relatively developed along with their cognitive and inter personal skills will be able to balance technology with real life interaction. Therefore, it seems to me that young adults need to learn how to manage different inter personal relationship demands and contexts in both the real and virtual worlds.

Continuing from the above paragraph, emerging devices which possess ever improving characteristics facilitate increasing communication: indeed,it is true that many young people are actually forming artificial virtual personalities and devoting more effort towards cultivating online personas. More so, especially as the pandemic exacerbates greater use of videoconferencing tools - meetings, classroom lessons and projects, etc. are being done real time, concomitantly as the youth forget their old routines of doing daily commutes to and from work and university campuses. Nevertheless, despite these emerging trends, many young men and women still acquire other social skills which they would otherwise not have cultivated in real life environments. Take for example, a small business that relies on selling cyber security software; an inexperienced call center worker in an offshore location who would not be otherwise employed, speaking to clients all over the world as well as the head office. Technology, therefore facilitates valuing diversity in employment and more varied interactions, all contributing towards nurturing social skills among younger age groups.

A virtual presence or social media use, perhaps indiscriminately, fosters artificial relationships. As artificial intelligence evolves along with immersive virtual environments, opportunities will grow for real life simulations. Young persons can nurture social skills just as they would in the real world; virtual reality headsets and augmented reality combines with three dimensional spaces which will increase inter personal interactions. Just as there will be business opportunities, so too would there be new ways of learning things. Lab experiments or architectural projects can also be done in the new meta verse. Moreover, educators and parents also share some responsibility for coaxing young men and women back into the real world: they could use certain incentives and reinforcements which urge children and youth towards outdoor trips, camping activities or even just getting them off their smartphones.

Technological advancements and its’ proliferating applications is only here to stay. Many habits and routines which younger age people have adopted especially during the pandemic is unlikely to wither away completely. It seems then, the challenge is creating new opportunities for cultivating social and technological skills, especially during profound change. The youth, educators and their parents share the burden of encouraging youngsters from early ages towards responsible technology uses, social media as well as social responsibility. The important idea is coaxing them to discover more about themselves, try new things and to just be themselves. It is perfectly possible for them to have digital avatars and virtual experiences but also to participate in the real world just as there are laws, policies and ethics which need to harness the opportunities in both worlds.

In conclusion, younger age groups are losing social skills due to proliferating technologies, emerging applications and new, though not necessarily good habits. But then, there are also increasing opportunities for cultivating social skills, these are either primarily in the real or virtual worlds or it straddles both. A lot depends on a person, the prevailing context and his capacities; the youth need to seek social interaction but the burden of shared responsibilities among different groups often implies that they need to be coaxed to do it. Nonetheless, only if indiscriminate technology uses are taken to extremes then would they lose their respective social skills. Technological applications will grow, will increase and these young men and women need to balance various considerations.