The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director recommends that Super Screen increase its budgetary allocation, in the next year, towards advertising. The company believes that improving audience awareness about the positive reviews and the contents is positively correlated with higher attendance. The memorandum bases this belief on supporting evidence which states that the percentage of favorable reviews is not reaching enough viewers. However, before implementing the recommendation, there are certain questions which require closer scrutiny. The implications need examining and the argument could still be valid or be weakened further.

Firstly, the attendance numbers for super screen produced movies as compared to the overall industry needs a closer examining. The company must scrutinize information about audience numbers over the past year, when evaluating budgetary allocation. If audience numbers have been declining as a universal trend, merely enhancing the advertising budget would make little difference to improve attendances. The director would rather emphasize how fun it is to watch Super Screen movies in the theaters; this could perhaps increase viewer numbers as compared to merely stating the positive reviews.

Another question which arises is whether the percentage of positive reviews is actually a good metric for determining the movies impact. It is possibly true that viewers are not aware of the contents: take for example, ten top movie critics publishing their comments on most visited websites; audiences only tend to check the blogs or critics' feedback on these websites but not the lesser well known reviewers. More information about the viewer characteristics and preferences gleaned from surveys, perhaps facilitates an informed decision. The company could then modify its' strategy with an informed decision about whether movie-goers actually are aware of these reviews or critics. Moreover, information about the number of reviews is necessary-a positive percentage over just two reviews in the intervening year is unlikely to improve attendance, perhaps there are other ways for measuring the impact of movies, maybe?

Finally, a question about any relationship between movie-goers and critics perhaps informs any changes to company strategy. The immediately preceding paragraph mentioned that consumers are perhaps not aware of the reviews. Suppose that they actually knew the contents of the critics' blogs- instead of favorable feedback about movie-goers' action movie tastes, these well known columnists write good comments about Super Screen produced romance movies. There is no way of determining if increasing advertising budget will be successful, if theater-goer characteristics are not known from surveys. Furthermore, closer examining of movie critic feedback and Super Screen consumer preferences requires scrutiny, especially in the past few years, to know if the public is actually aware of quality of movies that are produced and reviewer contents.

To conclude, the director requires supporting evidence which evaluates the merits of the argument and the recommendation. Certain questions like the suitability of the percentage of positive reviews as a metric, or, closely examining any possible relationship between critics and movie-goers require examining potential implications before deciding whether increasing the advertising budget, over the next year is actually a viable option.