The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager's memorandum hastily decides on restoring previous airtime given to weather and local news in the late-night news program. In doing so, he makes many unwarranted assumptions. A closer scrutiny of corroborating facts and data is necessary for evaluating the argument's merits: it could yet be valid, though, there could be other contributing factors. Essentially, the business executive needs to understand the cause of the problem before implementing the recommendation. He could be making a mistake, more so, since restoring program segments needs more careful deliberation of relevant and supporting evidence.

The memorandum mentions viewers' complaints pertaining to station weather and local news coverage in the intervening year. There is no information on the specific nature of the complaints. Also, analyzing pertinent data on audience groups, their numbers and complaint frequency is perhaps necessary; it needs a closer examining if they actually represent the particular audience characteristics and demographics. Moreover, only by closely examining the specific nature of the negative feedback, would the contributing factors be more clear. Perhaps, the audiences are expressing their views about the hosts of the television show, or there are opinions about the day time weather and local news segments. Only by completing a survey, gleaning insights from it, the manager makes an informed decision about whether there is actually a relationship between late night program segment devoted to local news and weather and the specific frequency and germane nature of audience complaints.

Additionally, credible and relevant cross examining of evidence which pertains to the local businesses that have cancelled the advertising contracts. Just because these contracts were cancelled in the past year, doesn't necessarily mean that it is a coincidence. There could be other contributing factors. The manager needs to speak and survey these business representatives and gather more information: their preferences, concerns also needs knowing. Moreover, only if the television station establishes that the local businesses were actually dismayed by the late-night program segments and airtime which were given to local weather and news, will there be an informed decision.

Furthermore, evidence which assists efforts for increasing audience numbers, perhaps facilitates the recommendation. Viewers are probably tuning into other stations, watching something else during the meantime. Merely assuming that they would just want local news and weather restored is actually dangerous to the business interests; their tastes could have changed, their preferences and characteristics also needs to be known from research. Maybe they are doing something else which grabs their attention, or they get their news sources from somewhere else, perhaps.

The television station simply cannot go back to restoring airtime for local news and weather, just because there were higher ratings before. There were problems, which is why there were cancelled contracts and declining audience numbers. But to just assume without closely deliberating any relevant evidence is actually dangerous. The station and the manager needs to closely examine the potential implications before making an informed decision.