A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

At first glance, it seems that experts predicting that Mentia residents will suffer fewer headaches in the future is logical. Upon closer inspection, their prognostication, though based on the results of recently completed research and food-processing company plans, raises many questions. These require corroborating evidence for scrutinizing the possible implications; the argument is perhaps still valid or made weaker.

A first question pertains to the validity of the recently completed twenty year academic paper. The author mentions a positive correlation between increasing commercial substance use and declining average number of headaches. Looking more closely at this conclusion, more relevant information is required: for example, the methodology that is used, the number of participants included and followed-up; it needs knowing if each of the respondents actually developed the outcome of not having headaches. So, there could have been 100 people inspected in the intervening years with consuming the specific pill and the exact numbers as a proportion of the total of each of those hundred people developing multiple outcomes is not known; these could be that they dropped out, some developed headaches and some of them did not. Examining the accuracy, if a greater number of the hypothetical hundred people developed headaches or actually dropped out of the research, then the conclusions are not valid and the health expert prediction is wrong.

Another question is about the proper dosage of the particular artificially added ingredient as additives for lowering headaches. The food companies plan on increasing foodstuffs with Salicylates: the business managers only base this decision on hastily implementing the scientific paper's recommendation. They need to know consumer preferences and characteristics; gleaning data and facts from primary surveys, the bosses could understand if customers like ingesting natural materials like aspirin for reducing intensity and frequency of headaches. Moreover, scrutinizing other scholarly articles for results based on similar customer population, scientific method, etc. would give information about gathering and analyzing germane data for new product line. Say for example, other beverage companies created a soft drink with aspirin or something similar and customers responded well; the company leaders acquired the facts from randomized trials administering a placebo to other participants with no headaches. This company perhaps did not struggle to get the ethical approval for completing scientific paper in this way.

Finally, it needs exploring if there are other factors which contribute towards declining average number of headaches. Even if the academic paper conclusion is correct, there would also be other variables which increase the intensity, frequency or even duration of headaches. Moreover, self-reported measures are not necessarily objective- a person with a serious headache at the start as compared to another might say that he feels a throbbing pain but the other person perhaps states that he only feels brain fog. They possibly have produced medical documentation which suggests that both of them actually suffered head pain at the beginning of the research. It is not always patently obvious that one of the personalities being examined declares that he is not taking some other substance while being observed for salicylates. The specific person could secretly be ingesting aspirin in an unknown intravenous route. The validity is undermined and cannot be extended to other headache-suffering groups.

In conclusion, there are many questions which the scholarly paper's methods and conclusions raise, some of them include the validity of specific method used, the dosage requirement for new foodstuffs and the possibility of additional factors which influence whether respondents developed headache or not. If these implications are not closely examined, the argument falls apart. The prediction of lower number of headaches could therefore be wrong.