In surveys, Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author argues for the city government, in the present year budget, to devote more money for maintaining Mason City riverside recreation facilities. The argument believes that implementing plans for cleaning up the river is positively associated with greater use for water sports. However, there are many unwarranted assumptions that need to be addressed. The argument is invalid if the implications are not expressed and examined. It is thus, not strong enough, for greater funding.

Firstly, the author assumes that ranking water sports by preference is actually correlated with performing water sports. The paragraph mentions having gleaned information from multiple surveys. More necessary information about the residents surveyed: the demographics, their preferences, also whose characteristics represent the Mason City population along with other important factors. So, there could have been questions, in different surveys, about respective preferences, for example, do they want a hydroelectric dam or not? Or, questions about whether they enjoy watching recreational sports, though in no particular order. It is impossible making an informed judgment unless more information about the surveys are closely examined.

Another assumption pertains to resident complaints about the quality of Mason river water and the smell of it. Again, just like aforementioned paragraph, were the complaints from only a handful of local area inhabitants, those that actually represent the Mason City population, among other questions. Also, what about the specific nature of the complaints or even the frequency of a particular type of complaint. Complaints germane to the water smell, or gleaning information about the pollution, the sulfur deposits from rocks underneath as an example, some of these need a closer scrutiny for determining, if river cleanup will actually increase river water use.

Finally, another assumption specifically relates to increasing funding for maintaining riverside recreational facilities. We need to know if there are other alternatives for riverside facilities apart from only increasing funding. Also, whether denizen preferences about the facilities needs to be gleaned from the surveys; is there a point of access to the river for certain residents, or is it for water sports only. Furthermore, even if the local inhabitants of the area want the facilities and a cleaner river, we need to know if outsourced organizations and other policies is practical, whose feasibility is a proper alternative for managing such facilities instead of merely relying only on city government funding.

To conclude, the author makes many unwarranted assumptions in arguing for greater funding. Unless the potential implications of these assumptions are specified, the validity of the argument falls apart. Some of the assumptions are not restricted to, firstly, if denizen water sports rankings necessarily corresponds to actually using the river for water sports, or if the specific complaints about the water quality and smell actually represent the Mason City population. There are other assumptions too, whose implications need a closer examining for evaluating the argument’s validity.