A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Some people are of the opinion that every student should study the same syllabus until they finish school. However, I disagree with this as I believe a student should have the right to study whatever suits their interest, but I do concede with this idea in extreme situations.

Firstly, if every student of a country is forced to study the same curriculum it leaves no room for them to explore their own interests. For example, let's say the curriculum that the nation enforces is mostly oriented toward mathematics, students who are interested in music will feel that this is a burden to study as their interest lies elsewhere.

Secondly, if every student studies the same syllabus, it may lead to potential unemployment. For example, if there are a thousand students in a country and the curriculum is focused mainly on chemistry, and let's say there are a hundred jobs related to said subject, then this would definitely lead to an issue as there would be nine hundred students without a job. Since the students were never taught to innovate and explore new ideas they would be lost.

Some may argue that following the same curriculum would help give students a sense of direction as it would avoid the confusion of choice. But this would only take away the students freedom. In conclusion, students should feel free to choose the subjects they like.