The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

Some people are of the opinion that the real talent of a musician is only known after he or she has been dead for many generations. However, I strongly disagree with this statement and believe that one shouldn't wait generations after the musician is dead to assess them for the following two reason.

Firstly, if assessing true talent of a person meant that he or she should be dead for several generations then there wouldn't be so many popular musicians who are in the good books of many critics. For example, let's look at the case of Michael Jackson. He was termed the 'King of Pop' even before he reached the end of his career. What this meant was people knew his true talent without waiting for several generations for him to pass away. If the above prompt were true then this title given to him and the awards he won would all just be to please him or his fans, which is most definitely not the case.

Secondly, a good critic is one who is unbiased and reviews the talent of a person without being guided by his or her fame. If real talent of musicians were known only years after they pass then that would mean that the performers are being fed whole lot of lies throughout their career and that all the awards they have won would eventually amount to nothing, which would only serve to anger their fans and family for generations to come as their favorite artists were not given the recognition they deserve even though they were popular during their time.

Some people may argue that a musician's work needs to stand the test of time in order to completely be given a fair shot. However this incorrect and a musician can be correctly assessed even though he or she is still. Hence, people need not wait a hundred years in order to completely know the true potential of an artist.