A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The power of choice should never be in question. The standarization of education has always been a hot topic, and for many people with different interests. The prompt states that the standarization of the curriculum of all the levels prior to college is a must and should be established as a mandate. That situation could be in detriment of the education level and also the students' future.

First it is important to clarify that the standarization of school subjects could improve the general education level of the nations population. For instance, a curriculum that includes the basics such as math, literature, science and social studies can improve the whole population preparation level for college. Thus, college professors could take from granted that all of the students reaching college have that basic knowledge. This shows that standarizing a curriculum could have some benefits.

Despite of the benefits of standarizing, there is also the process to accomplish that the whole population of a country follow the same curriculum, whis is not an easy one. Many countries around the world face different problems in this regards. Lets take the example of a third world country, where the rural areas are not as developed as urban areas and the former do not even have the infrastructure to provide good education, like science labs or even schools to start with. This could be a great issue for this kind of countries, beacuse to require student to follow a specific curriculum could not even be posible. That is why the requirement fails to be acomplished.

Following the issue of the process to reach standarization, there is the issue of what a student is good at and what he or she likes, requiring all students to follow the same curriculum throughout the years of education prior to college can limit them to discover their abilities and also the things they are not good at. This can cause students to have even more trouble to choose a master and to follow a path of their liking.

In conclusion, this is a complex topic, which requires more analysis and study than a simple generalization like the one stated in the prompt. Standarizing education can have benefits but also the accomplishment and the consecuenses of standarizing are most definitely an important part that each country should put everithing into a balance before making a decision of this caliber.