A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The author suggests that a nation should set a standardized, national curriculum that all students will follow--from the start of their education in elementary school until they graduate high school to go to college. For the sake of clarity, I assume that adopting the same national curriculum means setting strict standards on which classes students are required to take, with little to no room to take different classes aside from what is prescribed. I take issue with such a sweeping statement that would impose the a common set of requirements for all students, and I think that there is no need to set a strict national curriculum for all students.

While it is important for all students to have access to a well-rounded education, with access to the basic maths, social sciences, and arts, it is crucial for students to explore topics which they find most interesting. When students take the time to branch out to take extracurricular classes which they find most interesting, they have a much higher chance of future success. A 2010 study from Columbia University found that high school students who took at least one AP-level STEM class were much more likely to be accepted into a university for study in a STEM field. If students are not allowed this freedom of exploration in study in middle school and high school, then they will be much less likely to be confident in what to study when entering college.

Furthermore, setting a single national curriculum is an ardous task to take on. The people who set the curriculum may decide on a very biased education. If the curriculum entails that students must take high-level math classes and eschew history lessons, the result may be a generation of people who are not well-educated in history and a whole set of unfilled jobs which require knowledge of history.

Moreover, the author's argument makes a very large assumption in that all students will be going to college. While the rates of student enrollment in undergraduate degrees has been steadily rising in the US, there is a plethora of careers in high demand which do not need a college education. Students who are interested in careers in high-demand fields such as plumbing will not enjoy the benefit of a national curriculum which is focused on funneling students into college.

However, if we assume that the above points were proven to be wrong, then the author's argument could potentially provide a more level playing field for college admissions. When the curriculum is set to be equal for all students, then it is easier for the students to know what they have to do in order to get into college. Unfortunately, this case may lead to it's own problems, where students seek to differentiate themselves from their peers through means such as taking extra courses of study outside of the high school system. This could lead to wealthy students having an even more unfair advantage of college admission.

The idea of a single national curriculum could be beneficial given a certain set of conditions, but following my arguments above, I believe that it is in the student's best intention to have freedom in their course of study.