A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is as important a need as food, clothing and shelter in this competitive world. The level and field of education varies from person to person. Every nation should mandate a certain level of basic education to everyone. Curriculum should be designed based on the average capabilty of the students. A nation must not require all of its students to study the same curriculum. Instead, it should create a curriculum that targets a zone of students.

Every student acquires basic knowledge from parents. However, the amount of knowledge that a student acquires varies from one student to another and depends on how educated the parents are. For example, a child of a politician may know many things about politics when he/she is still 10. In contrast, a mechanic's son is unlikely to gain the same amount of knowlege. As one can infer, there is already a difference in the mental abilities of a child. Hence, aristocratic families would want to educate their child in a reputed institution. If a common curriculum is designed, which might be below par for a precocious child, then parents would be more than happy to send their children abroad for studies. As a result, a country might lose gifted scholors.

Aditionally, it is not pragmatic to design a common curriculum given the demographic variety of the students. Even, if someone breaks through and finds a solution, the curriculum may not be acceptable by the students. For instance, a math prodigy might find the curriculum all too silly, on the other hand, a student who spends most of his time in fields may find the curriculum very hard. Therefore, it is not so easy to design a ubiqutous curriculum that will be accepted by everyone.

Though there may be advantages of mandating a common curriculum such as, coomon grading system, common platform to judge students. The disadvantages of the common curriculum outwave its advantages. Hence, a common curriculum may not be a good idea.