A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

Often, we assume that elementary level education is enough for anyone to perform simple tasks. Thus, the syllabus is universal for all students until elementary level. So assuming that fixed curriculum might do the same trick is not bad. Nevertheless, this approach can not help students in longer run, because at a point student start figuring out their own interest in different subject right after elementary level education. So it is disavantageous to force student to study a fixed curriculum until college. I disagree with the issue and my reasonsings are mentioned in upcoming text.

Human minds grow and learn best when they are challenged along with difficult situation. Student life before college, also shows this learning graph. Students are tends to change their interest in subjects based on challenges they face, if we do not allow student to switch among their favorite subjects, then we might put a barrier in their growth.

A Nation expects great engineers, doctors, lawyers etc from their country, but sportsman, artist, soldiers are also needed to grow towards a better future. Fixed Curriculum is very outrageous thinking towards liberal minds. Often we see students with more interest in sports rather than chemistry, so they opt for easier subject. This allows them to achieve passing grades easily and fully concentrate on their sports. For example; if we expect focus more and more in mathematics achievement from a student and forgets about his own interest in painting. Then we might end-up with a average mathematician rather than having good artist.

Sometime health issues can be a barrier in a student life. Though, countries are encouraging education for all children regardless of their disabilities, fixed curriculum might put an immense pressure on these children to compete with other children.

Although, fixed curriculum has no gurantee to bring the best talent to college or make better society, it might end up with increment in drop-out rates amoung young teens, who may feel rejected in such pressured conditions.

In the conclusion, I firmly believe fixed curriculum will not help our society and invironment.