A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is a crucial pillar stone in all societies. Every step of education is as important as the next - be it elementary to high school, high school to college, and finally college to what will hopefully be a successful and fruitful career. The curriculum plays a vital role in this education process as it determines what the student will learn. Although beneficial in some aspects, all students should not be required to study the same national curriculum. It would be warranted to discuss the pros and cons of adopting a national curriculum.

A standard curriculum would generalize all the students under the same umbrella and fails to take into account the diversity across the nation. Every society that is part of this nation will differ in some regard to language, culture, food, practices, etc. and a national curriculum would strip these societies of their individualities. It is well known that in many nations around the world, there are several languages practiced and spoken within each nation. For example, in the Philippines there are over 700 languages spoken across the country, with Tagalog as the primary language. Although all students in the country are required to learn Tagalog, most schools also require their students to take classes in the language of their orignating city. If a standard curriculum were in place, students outside Manila would be stripped of the opportunity to learn the language of their native origin.

Another reason a standard national curriculum would not be beneficial is that it fails to take into account the difference in the quality of schools. There are private schools and public schools, and a compromise would have to be made between the two as to what curriculum should be taught. Will the public schools be able to afford this newly adopted curriculum? Will the private schools lower their standards to meet this curriculum? What about students that are home schooled? Will they be denied entry into college as their parents were unable to teach their children this standard curriculum? It is a gray area that again fails to acknowledge the differences that are inherently prevalent in society.

Furthermore, if all students were to study the same national curriculum then all students entering college would possess the same ideas and there would be no innovation and progression in conversation.

On the other hand however, a benefit to adopting a national curriculum is that it creates a standard against which makes it easier for colleges to compare its students - this is why many colleges and universities around the globe require an SAT, A-Level, TOEFL or even GRE score.

In conclusion, although there are some benefits to implementing a standard curriculum, many nations continue to thrive and produce contributing members of society by embracing diversity.