Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The 21st century has seen an exponential rise in the area of technology. This generation, "the millennials" have especially grown dependent on the everyday use of technology. It is prevalent everywhere - the cars on the road, the cellphones and computers, household items, health care etc. The list could go on. While technology has complicated our lives to a certain extent, technology has in fact simplified our lives and made it easier to function.

A great depiction of how technology has made our lives both simpler and complicated would be an example in health care. Before machines were invented, researchers and doctors were unable to diagnose patient's effectively. Patients were merely categorized according to common diagnoses prevalent at the time. An anomaly was difficult to detect with no equipment. However, with CT, MRI and X-Ray machines, to name a few, many diagnoses are now made faster, and treatment has become more effective as a result. This however may pose potential complications as it now introduces more questions. Even with the boom in technology, there are still many diseases that have found no cure, such as AIDS or cancer. Research has been on-going for many years, and yet no answers have been found. Thus, although diagnosing and treatment for many health conditions have become more effective and efficient, many questions still remain unanswered.

Technology has also allowed mankind to re-connect with people from all over the globe. This has made communication and even long-distance relationships and friendships a lot simpler. Before the internet, couples were forced to write letters to each other in order to stay in touch which sometimes took weeks or even months to get delivered. Now with a click of a button, you can see and speak to your loved one on the opposite side of the world from almost anywhere in the world. Although this has now made communication simpler, there have many psychological repercussions, especially for the younger generation because of the internet. Many young people are attempting to live up to the expectation of the "greatest life as seen on Facebook or Instagram". Many younger people are experiencing what is now termed FOMO or "Fear of Missing Out" which is the idea that if you are not out and socializing with your friends, then you are uncool and do not have an exciting life. Another common term that is heard among the youth today is "If it's not on the internet, then it never really happened" thus playing into the idea that every single event has to be documented and posted in order to gain validation for likes, views, and comments. With this in mind, one could argue that technology has indeed made our lives more complicated.

In general, however, the benefits to technology far outweigh the cons. Through technology, third world countries have access to resources that never would have been granted - it is now easy to send goods and products across the globe. When there is a world crisis, people from all over the world can hear about it right away through satellites and televisions, and help is sent within 24 hours due to the prevalence of technology in the airplane and automotive industries. These are just a few examples in how technology has benefitted the world. I

n conclusion, technology has definitely simplified our lives in many regards. However, it has also caused many questions to be left unanswered as more and more new information is discovered through technology thus making it complicated. Furthermore, when used in excess or for the wrong reasons, technology can also cause psychological impairments and thus as with anything in life, technology should be used in moderation.