A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education has come to become a dire necessity of the growth and progress of an individual as well as a nation as a whole. This topic has been in debate for quite long, pondered upon by many scholars and dragged by politicians. But without any second thought I would agree with author that the same national curriculum is the necessity of the time. Everyone should be imparted similar/equal standard education, at least in their pre-college days. Being an egalitarian, I would argue that imparting same education brings out equality among students, even the unprivileged one’s have scope for development. Similar education gives students a sound fundamental base to solve everyday problems, opens variegated career options. Admittedly, a nation becomes socially stronger thereby avoiding communal unrest.

Firstly, equal education among students brings out a sense of equality. Take an example of India, there are many different school societies, imposing different educational curriculum. There are national boards and state boards, having a vast difference between the courses and the quality of material. Yes, the amount of fees charged by state boards may be less than that of National ones, but it lacks the sophistication in the knowledge imparted to the students. Making a same national curriculum we can overcome this gap.

Secondly, the unprivileged students would get an equal opportunity to achieve the dreams and have the same scope for advancement. Education as it stands, should be free from vile of greed and unjust. There are many bright and precocious youngsters in the remote parts of Africa, who do not get the same quality of education as the children in the rest of the world does, thereby making them susceptible to vile parts of society.

Understandably, making a solid common foundation among the future pillars of the nation would help us to appease the communal unrest and the social issues which many countries are plagued with. For example, Bangladesh is facing a country-wide protest against the radical Islamic group of societies, who force out their malevolent thoughts in the name of religion. Imparting similar education could free us from the boundaries of religion and cast.

One must admit that education is a delicate issue and should be analyzed and repercussions should be thought upon. It cannot be enforced, it should be a free will, and we should understand that, everyone doesn’t have the same mental or cognitive development. Rather than enforcing it, what the nation should do is, keep a common base with extra cushions to suit various needs of children. Various options should be provided to mold the path according to the will of the student.

To sum up, imparting similar education is the necessity of time, but should be carefully pondered upon and analyzed. Everyone should be provided and equal chance and opportunity to succeed in their life. But, at the same time it shouldn’t be forced upon.