Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author has rightly contended that scandals bring our focus in ways that no other things could ever bring. People choose to eschew the conspicuous problems unless some big scandals hit our daily routine. Often, leaders and speakers are ignored, and not given due credence to the problems pointed out in their speech. People get so busy in their lives that they ignore the problem until it hits them right in their face. Scandals bring collective attention of public to the concerned problems, and these are discussed in their daily routine.

Firstly, it is very common for people to ignore the realities, which are right infron of their face. Once a scandal happens then only they realise about the possibility of same happening to them or their loved ones. In Dec 2014, India's capital New Delhi, saw the biggest protest against their government for the reason of security of women. Unless the harrowing incident of rape of a young women surfaced across media, people were reluctant to start an agitation. Somehow during such incidents people vicariously feel that it could happen to them, and thus it resulted in concentrated effort by common people to bring change in laws related to rape and their punishment.

Secondly, sometimes certain issues are not understood by common people like loopholes in government policies, open flouting of regulations by big merchandises. These clandestine activities though being objected by few leaders or people from civil society are not within the understanding of general mass. Inspite of frequent small scale campaigns by such leaders, unless these disgusting activities are put in open, normal people do not give heed to its importance. In such scenarios role of media is very important; it has powers to bring such heinous secret activities into the purview of common citizen. In Brazil, Dilma Rouseff, was recently impeached due to her involvement in scandalous corrupt practices. This scandal when brought in public, created furor which resulted in her impeachment.

However, role of media and false accusation could cause downfall of innocent people or company as a whole. Sometimes, to increase TRPs certain issues are raised by media and these scandals affect career of individual or the reputation of any reputed company. Recently, in India, Nestle was subjected to such scandal. It was found contended by government organisation that there were carcinogenic substances present in its one of the main product. Due to this contention, company has to reject products worth millions in money, apart from this, company's name was maligned beyond recovery.

Conclusively, scandals are helpful in bringing attention of public over problems, but sometimes companies or individual has to suffer wrath of such scandals even when they are innocent. Nevertheless, over the time in history, scandals have proven to help in identifying heinous activities by reputed leaders and companies, who can not be directly questioned.