Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists. Reason: The surest indicator of a great nation is actually the welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Indicators of a great nation imbibe welfare of all without any discrimination on the basis of gender, race, and ethnicity. Ideology of nationalism begins with its people, where denizens sharing same territorial, geographical, ethnic, and cultural boundaries identify themselves with each other. The main, foremost, important part of a nation is its people. The idea of nationalism disseminated among people as they realized their rights were oppressed by monarchies, theocracies, dictatorships around the globe. Here, only few among the affluent sections would be the main focus of territory. No nation can be great if it neglects or flouts its obligation to common people.

Nation resembles its citizens, and unless they are collectively uplifted, it cannot reach apotheosis. Several components, such as hunger index, infant mortality, health care, education, and security of minorities, would make a nation achieve greatness. These criteria, on which current progress is compared, can be achieved only and only if all the section of society is taken care of. It is a thing of past, where dictators and monarchs would enjoy extreme supremacy, and their achievements would make the whole empire great. Achievements of alexander the great and territorial extension of Ottoman Empire were thought to be indicator of great nation.

Similarly, achievement of Hitler and Napoleon could not make their nation great, as a large chunk of their nation was living under poverty and being ill-treated. Their empire included reputed artists and scientists; they achieved great success and accolades, but these accolades and successes could not benefit common mass. In current world, several countries have wealthy and effluent upper class but their common people struggle to keep their basic needs satisfied. In Syria millions of people die of hunger, poverty, and due to lack of health care. At the same time, their scientists have developed weapon of mass destruction, bio-chemical weapons have been used. This surely does not qualify a nation to be great.