In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

In this competitive world, to survive you need to excel. Many say that, humanity has reached a level of excellence. But is it so? In my point of view it has become even more tougher and competitive for our children to prove themselves. Yes, imagination has acted as a key catalyst for realizing our success, but it is not the only one. Imagination and knowledge have been going hand in hand, since humans started their journey on this planet. What would one achieve by just imagining? Can he survive this rapidly changing and demanding world? No one can disagree with the fact that knowledge facilitates imagination.

Firstly, Yes, by imagining you can create your own ideas, you can dream something big and extraordinary. But would it suffice? No one realizes the importance of a dream until it can be materialized. And for that, one needs knowledge. For example, Shah Jahan build the famous monument of love ‘The Taj Mahal’, would it have sufficed if he would have just imagined it, or sketched it on a paper? No one would have known the importance of love, how powerful it could be. Another similar example can be quoted for pyramids. It was because these monuments were built, not just imagined, that they count as wonders of world and dreams of an architect.

Secondly, in today’s professional and academic field, results are more paramount than imaginations. The world is changing so rapidly, that one don’t even realize when a gadget or even an idea becomes obsolete. For example, the mobile manufacturing companies such as Samsung, HTC etc. are continuously on their toes, striving to produce new technologies for ever demanding world. What if they would have just imagined? Without any knowledge of how to fabricate their dreams? Then it would have been nearly impossible for them to survive this precipitating world.

Thirdly, according to the famous quote of Dan Brown, ‘Knowledge grows exponentially. The more we know, the greater our ability to learn, and faster we expand our knowledge base’, which clearly suggests that, increasing our knowledge base facilitates our imagination process. If Graham Bell, wouldn’t have imagined and materialized his dream of telephone, would we have been using smartphones today? I guess everyone knows the answer.

Understandably, only knowledge can’t help us to realize our dreams, its imagination which holds the true power. Take an example of Nokia, they had all the knowledge and resources but still couldn’t survive the onslaught of android system and the power of touch devices. The company which was the epitome of mobile systems, was crushed just because of lack of imagination power.

To sum it up, imagination would always act as a catalyst to our knowledge, would always keep us driven to realize new horizons. There can’t be a discourse about which is more crucial, one can easily conclude that imagination and knowledge are like two pillars of success, you cannot stand without having the other.