Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is correctly contended in the claim that researchers should not limit their investigations strictly to the area in which they are expecting to discover something that has immediate practical application. A holistic approach towards research is highly likely to produce extraordinary products and inventions, which will be essential for society. The reason provided states that outcome is impossible to predict, but with enough research already done in any field, one can surely get insight about what to expect; however, it does not clearly expound the main basis of the claim. Today's era has highly connected streams of research, and an innovation in one field might add new dimensions to other as well.

Currently, research areas have been highly intermixed, over the time it has fused into one another. To clearly claim that a development in a field will affect only that field is fatuous. In the past, research topics were highly secluded and there were sporadic fields in which one could study, but contemporary research is a mixture of different areas altogether. For e.g., in earlier days, there used to be different specific departments of chemical, materials, biotechnology and nanotechnology; but recently these areas have fused together and a breakthrough in one field affects another.

The prime focus of social networking sites was to connect people to the internet, but over the years it has found application in every aspect of society. People are not only connecting for socializing but also for doing business. Stand-up comedians for whom it was difficult to show their talent at large scale are finding this platform highly effective to penetrate across religion, caste, race, ethnicity and demography. Advertisement business has seen new height due to the advent of social networking and people choice to use online platform for business. A tool which started for developing basic connection among students of a college now holds the biggest audience for any cause.

In the past, several types of research whose main target was to benefit defense sector, when subjected in the purview of a larger audience , proved highly effective for another usage as well. The advent of the internet, wireless, GPS, and much more were strictly used by army personnel; it slowly swept into common masses in the form of telephone, mobile, wireless, location tracking etc. It is true that it’s very difficult to predict the outcome of any research and keeping a multifarious approach toward research is always important.

Conclusively, one should not be myopic in looking beyond the scope of their designated field, but several inspirations and parallels can be drawn from the collective approach in finding the solution of humanities' main concerns. Medical field and Engineering were supposed to be two different sects, but today these societies work hand in hand in order to achieve eradicate deadly diseases and propel easier treatments.