Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

It is one of the highly discussed topics in our mainstream politics, subsidizing and providing funds to the students who are admitted to a university but cannot afford the tuition fee. It is of the paramount importance that the government should focus on uplifting the underprivileged children and the young adults, through funding tuition fees for those who cannot afford it. The young generation is the future of any country, and if they are not managed properly then any country will surely go towards its own destruction.

Millions of students do not enroll or even apply for a higher education due to the lack of funding and a tremendous financial burden. From a purely financial point of view, any investment should be as such that it should bring a return on that investment. University education in a way drives the whole country; several entrepreneurs, doctors, engineers, lawyers, and civil servants receive their degree from colleges, and they work for the betterment of society. If a person is unable to pay fees due to his financial condition, he should be supported; as it will be an investment with a sure guarantee on the returns. So, the government should invest in those students who are living in the impoverish conditions.

Singapore was an ordinary nation until its government focused on reforming education sector. They put concentrated effort on reforming the education sector of their country, which resulted in its outperformance in terms of growth and prosperity; currently, it is one of the fastest growing countries of the world. It focused on imparting college education to every eligible student and put heavy subsidies on education loan. Expenditure on education surely propelled Singapore in becoming one the economical hub of the world, and its GDP per capita quadrupled over the years.

Apart from the financial point of view, one of the main concern of any democratic nation is to bring equality among every section of the society. The gap between the affluent class and the poor people is growing at an unprecedented rate. One of the easiest ways to bring anyone out of the poverty is to give them fair chance of education and employment; this can be easily provided with financial aids to deserving candidates. It will be a firm way to avoid any conflict between the underprivileged and the society.

Opponents of this view would suggest that unless there is a sense of burden on the student, they would not take the courses seriously. No one gives value to the things which are provided for free of cost. No doubt that certain people would take this as a liability and use countries' resources for their own benefit. But to avoid that, easy availability of loans or partial funding would be an option to support and at the same time put a sense of value among the receivers.

Conclusively, there is around one-third of the population who can not afford a proper college education, many such deserving candidates do not get a chance to mark their presence in the corporate world. To avoid the gap between the rich and the poor, education subsidies are a must, but at the same time, this should be provided in a way so that education is taken seriously by the receiver.