The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation.

"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Here, argument presents a strategy for introducing its new line of coffee in the market. A stated, Apex Corporation (AC) will try to capture the market by first introducing the product into a major supermarket and then subsequently to the major chain restaurants; through this approach, AC hopes to capture the top spot in the coffee market. In the argument, it fails to capture any idea about tackling problems. It assumes that mere a strategy of advertisement will make them the top seller. It fails to provide compelling argument on other aspects of marketing.

Firstly, It hopes to survive initial sales on just word-of-mouth advertisement in a major supermarket. This assumption does not guarantee any success of the sales. It may happen that this sort of advertisement would fail to encourage customers to buy their products. For any newcomer in any field, there are a lot of problems which need to be reviewed such as targetted group, consumption criteria, whether customers will like the product or not branding, endorsements. Based on these results introduction of a new product may be successful. Generally, corporations tend to sell their product for free in the initial days and as people develop a taste for the products and from various feedbacks on improvement a full-fledged release can be planned. Here, the argument fails to acknowledge that only word-of-mouth advertisement can not guarantee that the product will be successful.

Secondly, it assumes that the only advertisement is the key factor to make customers aware of their products. Other than that, advertisements can be targetted to the specific lot who are more susceptible to buy the product. A study on coffee drinkers and their habit may serve a guideline for a corporation to exactly target the customers who are likely to purchase the product. A lot of people who do not watch TV or listen to the radio; to target those people print, the internet and social media advertisements can become a boon for the corporation. Also, a lot of office workers drink coffee twice or thrice in a day; these customers can be targetted with concentrating on selling products to business outlets.

Thirdly, to become a top seller in any field, lot of factors need to be considered; the advertisement is one such aspect, but there is more. Profitability, pricing, offers to capture the mind of buyers, competition from other ventures and availability of products are other such factors which should be studied and based on a holistic study; the strategy should be made to become on of the top sellers in the coffee market. If all these aspects are carefully considered then, one can expect A