Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

There is always an ambiguity over what information should be passed to the public and what should not. Information can be a very powerful tool; it has toppled government and enlightened people to achieve 'nirvana' on one hand, while it has caused harrowing use of weapons by terrorists. On one hand, information about nuclear energy caused great radiation disasters at Hiroshima and Nagasaki; on the other, it is being used as perennial source of energy. It always depends upon the keeper of information, how he/she wants to use it.

Not all information can be passed on to the common people, as it may endanger national security and its integrity. Classified information related to military, security, and energy cannot be put out in public domain. If such information leaks in the hands of wrong people then it can jeopardize security and create havoc in public. At the same time, this privilege should not be exploited for benefit of the ruling elite or few affluent people. If such information is kept secret for the benefit of all, then only such clandestine information would serve its true purpose.

However, people have rights to know about things, which they are directly related to. In democracy, political leaders are chosen by the people, and thus they have an obligation to justify their actions, mainly related to policies. Right to information keeps a check on sordid officials and public leaders. Recently in Brazil, its president Dilma Rousseff, was impeached on the grounds of corrupt practices. In India, Right to Information bill was passed in 2005, which is considered as a big leap towards openness and fairness in government offices. Under this, all government organization can be asked questions pertaining to malicious practices, and perpetrators are brought to justice.

Another important concern is people are paying taxes; it is taxpayer's money which is being spent on infrastructure, policies, facilities, and insurance. So, by this logic they have a say in whichever way their money is being used, and policies has to be made to be beneficial to common people. Open information about such issues keeps malpractices in check. In conclusion, not all information can be put out in open due to the concerned reason of safety and integrity of society; nevertheless common people should know about things that directly affect them.