People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In our daily life, we tend to make decisions ranging from random to highly significant ones. Some of them are just superficial and negligent, while others have a much bigger role to play. Every decision should be made with some logic behind it, as most of the decision will have bigger implications than one can perceive or foresee.

From arbitrary sartorial decisions to bigger career-related decisions, everyone is busy taking a step forward by making some decisions. While some decisions one has to make quickly and others should be well thought, like career decisions. A heuristic study about pros and cons of any decision and weighing different available options will help in making decisions easier. Often eccentric people responding to the impulsiveness tend to make disastrous decisions. In earlier days, mad kings used to make such decisions, which always resulted in mayhem among the citizen of the kingdom. In ancient India, an emperor started a new currency based on leather departing from set gold and silver coins. Such decisions brought his kingdom to dissolution.

While making important decisions one should critically analyze the situation from a different perspective, studying the pattern and ramifications of such decisions make them a viable option. In the field of engineering, almost all the main industrial disasters could have been thwarted if concerned engineers would have been more cautious towards decision making. In the Piper Alpha disaster, the supervisor switched to the standby pump for pumping flammable gas without checking the alternate pump and its repercussion. The alternate pump was not connected, and highly inflammable gas filled the whole area which eventually caught fire.

However, there are several instances where emotions should also be checked before making decisions. Currently, A successful person should have not only high IQ but also emotional quotient. Cases, where sentiments are involved, should include a mixture of logic and emotions. Decisions which involve relationships should be weighed not only in terms of logic but also emotions. For example, a decision to make Hydropower project will benefit every person availing electricity from that project but at the same time will be detrimental to people living there. In such cases, emotional distress of these people should also be considered.

Lastly, any decision should not be impulsive or purely based on emotions; such decisions often tend to implode. A mixture of logic and emotions evaluated during making decisions will surely be successful, and such people are the efficient decision makers.