An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument states a strategy to combat the deficiency of vitamin A among the people of Tagus. This strategy revolves around the adoption of a new variety of the seed of millet which has a higher content of vitamin A. In providing this hypothesis; it fails to answer several questions, which will directly affect the viability of this suggestion. Also, the assumptions taken by the international development organization fails to provide substantial reasons to bolster its claim that the new variety of millet will normalize the vitamin A deficiency.

First, it talks about the introduction of a new type of millet seed, which supposedly has higher vitamin A. There are several questions regarding the quality of seeds that should be answered before its introduction. First, whether the new seed has been tested and approved by the World Health Organisation? What are the basic criteria that should be met before the introduction of a new variety of genetically engineered seed, and who is the issuing and certifying authority? Second, what are the effects of the introduction of the new seed to the soil of Tagus, whether it will have any long-term effect on the nutrients in the ground? What will be the requirement in terms of the irrigation, fertilizers, and the land quality in long-term and short-term use of the new variety of seed? If answers to these question are not positive, then the introduction may not be fit in long-term.

Second, from the financial point of view, it suggests that the new seeds will be subsidized which will make the new seeds readily available to the farmers, and they will not face any financial hardship. However, it fails to acknowledge the fact that new seeds may require a higher quantity of fertilizer and irrigation, the total effective cost of production may differ. In a cost comparison, The other costs should also be taken into consideration. Apart from these, yield per area of the field will also be a crucial factor, which should be properly focused on the introduction of the seed into te market. The effectivity of the new variety of seed will be beneficial only if it is cost comparative, and this should include everything i.e. cost of irrigation, pesticides, insecticide, fertilizer and the total yield.

Lastly, it states that millet is already a staple food in the Tagus, so the people will readily adopt the new variety in their food. There is always an apprehension among people whenever a new product is launched. Several factors will decide the adaptability of the new variety, for example, its cost, taste, digestibility, and side-effects. Another aspect to look would be a concentration of another nutrient in the new variety.

At last, the new variety of seed may be beneficial for the people of Tagus, but a detailed study based on several stated factors will make its cause more viable.