A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education plays vital role in developing a nation. The curriculum of education should be so adjusted to bring the strong foundations for the nation building. Education has its levels all around the world, school level education, college level education and university level education. There should be a one national curriculum at school level education so that all the students stand on the same basis before they decide their particular careers. Some people think that there is no need of one common curriculum for school level education and local school should have authority to alter the curriculum to some extent depending upon demographic variance around different states of the country. However, most of people are in favor of view that all students should study same curriculum nationwide before going to colleges.

Primary education at school level helps in grooming children intellectual and mental strengths. And if they are taught a common national curriculum, their strengths aligned in one direction of building stronger nation instead of being favorite to certain group of people or being biased to certain areas. There lies harmony and unity among the citizens if they have taught common curriculum. Aligned objectives of citizens help in selecting the best leadership options. Citizen choose national interest rather than local or areal. In England, Education Reform Act 1988 adopted the same policy of standardizing the school education curriculum nationwide keeping the same objectives of reforming the nation strength.

Moreover, a common national curriculum helps in assessing the school performances all over the county. Schools in which same subjects and contents are taught can easily be assessed by a single governing body. Their performances can easily be monitored and improved with less time and effort. For example, in university’s different campuses all over the county, for a particular subject, same course contents are taught and a central exam is conducted to assess the campuses performances. In this way having the same curriculum nationwide, all school performances can be checked and be improved.

A common national curriculum has number of benefits to students as well as to institutions. For example a student who leaves one school and joins another school due to his father occupation i.e. defense, as military people have to move to different places according to their postings, can easily manage the new school environment without being entrapped in different curriculum of new school. Students having same curriculum at school level can easily compete at college entrance exam because they are at the same level of knowledge. Otherwise entrance exam will benefit more to who have studied the same parameters of curriculum as needed for college and less to others. So one can say that common national curriculum is inevitable before going to college.

Concluding the discussion, it can be stated that a common national curriculum is important, for the nation to strengthen itself, for the schools to be assessed on same parameters and for the students to enter colleges with same level of competencies.