A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Requiring all students to study the same national curriculum before pursuing tertiary education is a fair and rational education policy. Currently, the status quo of having state-centric curricula is biased, creates an unfair playing field for students wishing to enter college and is inefficient. For instance, Sweden has the most efficient education system in the world, and has implemented a national curriculum. My argument is as follows.

Firstly, the current system of having a different education curriculum for each state creates bias in the college application process. As students can apply for colleges interstate, the status quo favours students who reside within the state of application. For instance, if I am a high school student in California but wish to study at a college in Connecticut, then it is likely that the Connecticut college will be favourably biased towards high school students who studied Connecticut's curriculum. There is an institutional bias towards students who studied within that state, as the college will be predisposed to favoring their own state curriculum.

Further to this, wealthier states are more likely to have a curriculum that fosters higher level thinking and poorer states are more likely to have a curriculum that encourages lower level thinking. For example, a wealthy state might have a curriculum that focuses on high level economics and literature, while a poorer state might focus more on practical knowledge and skills. By reinforcing the status quo through education, state-centric curricula fosters horizontal inequality across the states. If we had a nation-wide curriculum, then students would instead receive the same quality education across the state and would develop the same skills regardless of the state in which they reside.

Finally, having state-centric curricula is inefficient as it requires each state to dedicate a significant portion of their budget towards developing and implementing education. Instead, if a national curriculum was implemented then the federal government could regulate the education system, leaving states to direct their budget towards other projects that are more relevant to each state, such as infrastructure. Finally, having a national curriculum would enable more efficient monitoring of the education system and it would be easier to observe what areas are lacking in secondary education.

In conclusion, streamlining education by implementing a national curriculum before college would be less biased, more fair and efficient than having state-centric education systems. It would be extremely beneficial for future students and their college prospects if the most favourable aspects of each state's curriculum were shaped into a new national curriculum.