As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoni

The rate at which humans are developing, advancing and pushing the boundaries of technology is incredibly rapid. We only need to look at the advancement of mobile phones in the past forty years to recognise that phones are getting smarter, smaller and more powerful every year. For instance, a comparison of the first iPhone in 2007 to the current iPhone 7 reveals that humans now have a wealth of information and capabilities at our fingertips that would have been inconceivable only ten years earlier. This gives rise to the question: are we trading off our intelligence in the face of technological advancements? This depends entirely on how you define intelligence. Naturally, we are becoming increasingly reliant on technology to perform basic problem solving tasks, simply for the purpose of convenience. For example, we no longer need to spend time browsing large books of maps to figure out how to get from point A to point B when an app or website can perform that task in mere seconds. In terms of base level problem solving, then it is entirely possible that humans are at risk of losing the ability to think for ourselves. However, technology is more than just an app, and intelligence is more than the ability to perform basic tasks. As this essay will argue, technology also plays a significant role in developing, expanding and nurturing human intelligence on a more complex level.

The advancement of technology is not natural. It is not a process of evolution, where progress occurs purely because there is a need for it. Rather, the development of technology is contingent on the development of human capabilities. Without the advancement in technological research, there would be no technological progress. As such, it is necessary that humans develop the skills and abilities required to advance technology further. For example, cars have become increasingly safer in the past twenty years, but solely because engineers and mechanics have created new safety technology to pave the way for safer vehicles. Features like ABS brakes, airbags and power steering have arisen from engineers responding with research and development to the desperate need for humans to have safer vehicles that can brake safely, withstand high impacts and swerve easily under pressure. Without this human response to a complex problem, cars would not have naturally evolved on their own accord. Further to this, with the advancements of technology humans are adapting their skills to ensure that they can keep up with the advancements. Fifty years ago, there was no need for people to know how to type on a standard QWERTY keyboard. However, now it is an essential skill that is taught to children at a young age to ensure that they know how to use computers for their study and play. Comparatively, an 18 year old student is extremely likely to have better typing skills than a baby boomer who is an experienced professional. So although the general population isn't involved in the research and development like those in the engineering or IT industries, it is still necessary for them to curate new skills in order to engage with technology.

Beyond enabling humans to solve basic problems, technology allows humans to access information, people and material that was previously inaccessible. With a simple touch of a button, we can now contact people across the world with apps like WhatsApp or Skype; we can also search, find and open a wide array of texts, and even translate ancient texts with powerful search engines like Google and online libraries like Wiley; online communities powered through websites like Reddit or Facebook allow people to connect like they never have before. In this manner connective technology has extended the reach of humans to unimaginable lengths. By broadening social or academic domains, technology empowers people to access and use new material, provoking cross-cultural discussions and developments. For instance, it is common practice for academics from universities across the world to co-publish papers in two or more languages by using technology like Google Docs or Dropbox. By promoting such access, technology provokes and fosters a different kind of intelligence to problem solving, that is more creative and thought provoking. Humans are becoming more creative, challenging boundaries of language, time and space that previously prevented actions like co-publishing academic papers.

In conclusion, it is naïve to believe that technology is limiting human intelligence. While it is possible, and even true, that humans are becoming more reliant on technology to solve basic every day problems like calculations, technology simultaneously empowers humans to develop and curate new skills. By forcing humans to develop skills to keep up with technology and fostering new ways of accessing information, technology has a integral role in nurturing human intelligence.