A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Curriculum is defined keeping in view the development of students as a whole, but restricting all students to just one curriculum until college is a waste of resources.

Many students have dreams of going to certain fields right from the beginning. Forcing them to study subjects that do not interest them may cause them to perform poorly in those subjects. Colleges usually base their admissions on previous results and ultimately the poorly performing students would find their admission process hindered, in competitive colleges. A students hating chemistry would find it a burden and have difficulty in learning the basics of it, same can be the case with other subjects.

Moreover, the time of students at this young age is very crucial for themselves and their country. If it it is wasted on unnecessary courses, we could never get this prime time back. A student interested in linguistics, if allowed to study the related field from the beginning would come out better in that field. This would prepare him earlier for the role of international translations or other important things that would help him to serve his country.

Further, the economy of many countries is already burdened. Thus, wasting money on educational institutes, just to allow them to teach diverse subjects to students doesn't seem a wise decision. Even if resources are available and the student goes through these courses, eventually he may not come out competitive in that subject. So, instead of focusing on jack of all approach, we should focus on master of some.

Though, teaching irrelevant subjects has its demerits, but it may produce individuals who have a good overall development. Such candidates can prove to be very helpful in times when economy is not doing great. Companies prefer people who are able to perform several tasks at hand. This allows the business to remain solvent. Moreover, it is also helpful to students who are not sure about their interests. How would they get to know what they love to do? So, the idea of a general course may not be rejected completely.

Hence, we can conclude that, although general courses have their advantages, but making them compulsory for all is not a good idea. The key is, to keep things flexible and not implement a uniform national curriculum for students until they reach college.