A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

Education systems are varied from country to country. While a common national curriculum is beneficial at some basic level of education, it is banal to require all of the students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Many argue that a common curriculum help the students to have a standard level of education at the end of each education level. Furthermore, it ensures stable and universal learning pattern in different part of the country, which reduces the student confusion if he needs to transfer from school to another since families may allocate for different reasons. This argument is true to some extent, the national curriculum should be a baseline in the early stages of education, students in elementary and secondary levels have to understand the basic knowledge in different subjects. for instance, every student has to comprehend the mathematics basic and review the history of his country.

In the other hand, the common curriculum should not neglect the uniqueness of each student. Every student has a different way of thinking, interests, strengths, and weaknesses which should be taken into consideration in his learning process. For example, an outstanding student will find the average common curriculum mundane, It will provoke his intellectual thinking and impede his creativity, as a result, he will lose his interest in learning. In contrary, a slow student will find the same curriculum arduous, which will frustrate him and eventually, he will also lose his interest in learning. That is to say, a common restricted curriculum will hinder students curiosity to learn and provoke their creative thinking. It is recommended to motivate the teachers to develop their own teaching style. For instance, Finland, ranked number one in the national education ranking, leading the world in their education system. Every teacher is responsible for developing her teaching style to accommodate the student's needs and abilities, and she does whatever it takes to make a success story out of every student.

Moreover, it is more efficient for students in high school to spend their time taking further classes in the subjects they are interested in and suit their future goals than wasting their time trying to comprehend subjects which are irrelevant to their interests. For example, an exceptional student in mathematics, who is interested in pursuing his education in engineering will find it waste of time to study biology and history, he would develop his knowledge in the relevant subjects and boost his creativity in that path.

In conclusion, while it is essential for all the students to have a basic knowledge in different subjects, creativity and curiosity can't be promoted with a rigid education system.